Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry

The Five Love Languages

Someone in interracial suggested the book The Five Love Languages - How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate by Gary Chapman to the community. Since I was going to the library anyway, I decided to check it out. I figured I'd probably skim through and read chapters that looked interesting. I sat down last night at about 7:30 to read and at about 10:30 I realized that I had read the whole book in one sitting.

This book made me think about what I do to show love to my partner and my daughter and what makes me feel most loved by them. Chapman says that there are 5 main love languages, each of them with many dialects but, most everything we do for love falls under one of the five love languages.

The Five Love Languages are:

Physical Touch
Quality Time
Positive Affirmations
Acts of Service
Receiving Gifts

Something that I found really interesting was, when I asked myself what makes me feel most loved , I put the languages in the order above but when I asked myself what do I do to show my family love the order was a little bit different. I realized that although Positive Affirmations is something that is important for me to hear to feel loved, I don't always speak Positive Affirmations to others.

For years I've said "Romance is knowing what makes your partner happy and then doing it." For me, romance is just that simple. I think this book helps you realize what you need from  your partner and what your partner needs from you. Once you know what your partner needs, do it. Love can be simple like that.



Books I Like

Latest Month

April 2009
Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by chasethestars